Posted on by R. Riveter

 
Name: Amy M.
Year Started at R.Riveter: 2019
Position: Remote Liner Riveter 
Military Affiliation:  Army Spouse
Current Base: Ft. Bragg, NC

 

How many moves with the Military?
Two moves in seven years, so far. 5 years were spent in Fort Polk, LA. I miss the food!

Why did you want to become a Riveter?
I actually had a full-time job and going into a management role when my husband deployed and I found myself stuck with no help for the kiddos. I was already feeling the blues of going back to work from having my second baby. I met another Riveter through our husbands, who worked in the same unit, and the rest was God! The day I left my job I accepted one that gave me an income, but even better because now I get to raise my babies and not miss things I was missing out on, like milestones and field trips, etc. 

What is one of your favorite things about being a Riveter?
Absolutely the mission! R.Riveter allows me to keep my identity while still bringing in an income. 

How has R.Riveter impacted your life?
I had to walk away from my career because I didn't have help to get the kiddos to school/daycare before programs opened and to be picked up in time before programs closed. Now I don't have that worry. My kids are with their mommy and they love it just as much as I do! I love that I can move my schedule around to cater to my family's needs and work when everyone is asleep or during naps. I don't have to worry about call-outs and extra stress that I don't need in my life. I can take my kiddos to the doctor without using sick days or not getting paid for it. I just love that I can be there for my family when they need me!

What does it mean to you to wear many hats - military spouse, maker, parent (to humans or animals), etc.
Everything! My husband and my kids are my life! What an incredible feeling that I am everything to someone!

Tell us about a typical "day in the work-life."
Wake up, get the kiddos ready, and take my oldest to school. Then nap time for the littlest, where I get a workout in or if I previously had a long night of working, I will take a nap too. Typical baby play day, then I pick up my oldest, and if it happens that the baby naps again, I get a little work in! Then dinner, showers, everyone in bed, and I head upstairs to get to work!

What's on your "work jams" playlist?
Sometimes it's old 90's hip hop and R&B, sometimes it's country. But most nights I am watching (or should I say listening) to Netflix from the desktop!

What is your favorite R.Riveter product?
I adore my brown wallet! I love the leather and it's the perfect size for me! The Special Edition Denim Otto is my favorite handbag. The inspiration behind it not only supports women like me, but the bag is CUTE!

What is your favorite Marketplace product?
The Home T Sweatshirt. I am a t-shirt and jeans kind of girl, so it's perfect winter wear for me!

Tell us 3 fun facts about you:
1. Jeep Fam, heyyyy!
2. Chipotle is my favorite food.
3. My coffee order from Starbucks is a tall Vanilla Sweet Cream in a grande cup with extra sweet cream.

Growing up you wanted to be:
I originally wanted to be a nurse but I became an EMT instead, only as I was going through school I was a cake decorator and after I graduated I found myself happier playing with icing. I was good at it and when I heard the responses from people when they saw I had created what they envisioned (and more), my cup was filled. So I was a cake decorator for many many years!